Driver’s License Testing Pricing, Info, & FAQs
Drive Test: $80
Interlock-Restricted Drive Test: $90
Re-Test: $60 (call office to schedule)
Loveland, Colorado 80538-1178
Fort Collins, Colorado 80524
*** There is no house or building to go into at this location. Park on Peterson Street near the corner of Peterson and Buckeye Street. Please plan to arrive 10-15 minutes early and wait for the Tester to return to the location. The Tester’s vehicle will have a CONAHAN’S DRIVING SCHOOL sign on the vehicle. ***
What To Know Before You Test
Appointments Are Required
Payment is due at time of booking. You must have your Colorado permit number (customer identifier/DL number) and form of payment ready at time of booking.
We accept all major credit cards, ACH (checking/savings account) or CashApp. Appointments can be made online or by calling the office at (970) 223-8900.
If you are late for your booked appointment time, we WILL NOT be able to administer the test, and NO REFUNDS will be given. Please plan to arrive 10-15 minutes BEFORE your scheduled time and wait for the tester to arrive in the Conahan’s vehicle.
Failing The Drive Test
If you fail a drive test with our company, you can test again as soon as the next day, schedule permitting. The fee for a retest is $60 and is due at the time of booking. Call the office at (970) 223-8900 to schedule a retest.
A refund may be given if an appointment is canceled or rescheduled PRIOR to 48 hours before your scheduled appointment. Any appointment canceled or changed within 48 hours to the scheduled time will not be issued a refund.
Drive Test FAQ
I am under 18, when can I take the drive test?
PER THE STATE OF COLORADO – If you are under the age of 18, you must have held your permit for exactly 365 days (1 FULL YEAR) before we can administer the drive test. Please verify the ISSUE date of your permit to ensure your scheduled drive test appointment will be given ON or AFTER that 365th day. We will not be able to give the test before that day and we will not issue refunds if this date has not passed.
I am over the age of 18, when can I take the drive test?
As long as you have a valid Colorado Permit, we can administer the drive test at any time. There is no required time to hold your permit before you can take the test. Appointment is required. Please see below if there are interlock restrictions on your permit.
What do I need to bring to the test?
Always bring your valid State of Colorado-issued permit. Temporary (paper) permits are acceptable, but they must be valid. If you do not have your permit with you, we will NOT be able to administer the test, and NO REFUNDS will be given. If you are under 18, we DO NOT need your 50-hour log sheet, this is for the Department of Motor Vehicles only. If you have interlock restrictions on your permit, please see below for all other necessary documentation.
I have an out-of-state issued permit, can I take the test?
No, at this time, we are not able to administer the Colorado State Certified Drive Test on out-of-state permits. You must obtain a Colorado permit in order to take the test.
Can I use my own vehicle?
All drive tests will be done in a Conahan’s Driving School vehicle, unless you have interlock-restrictions on your permit. If you are required by the state to use your own interlock-restricted vehicle, please see below for required documentation for your test.
What if I have Interlock-Restrictions on my permit?
If you have gotten a DUI and are currently required by the State of Colorado to use a vehicle with an Interlock (Breathalyzer) device in your vehicle while you drive, you MUST take the test in this vehicle. See the section below on required documentation for interlock tests.
I failed my test, when can I retest?
You are allowed to take the driver’s test once per day. Retests are by appointment only and schedule permitting. $60 charge for retests payable upon scheduling, and only via phone only. Please call the office to schedule. (970) 223-8900.
I have passed my Driver’s Test, now what?
Once you have passed your drive test you will need to go to the Department of Motor Vehicles office to be issued your Driver’s License. Our tester will submit the results of the test directly and immediately to them. The DMV is by appointment only and does not take walk-ins. Please visit their website, mydmv.colorado.gov to schedule. There is also an option to “Upgrade” your permit to a license on their website, but restrictions and time limits apply. Please contact the DMV office with any additional questions.
Interlock Test Required Documentation
*** PLEASE NOTE THE FOLLOWING REQUIREMENTS AND NECESSARY DOCUMENTS AT TIME OF APPOINTMENT ***
***IF YOU DO NOT MEET OR PROVIDE THESE, WE CANNOT DO THE TEST AND NO REFUNDS WILL BE GIVEN! ***
- CURRENT & VALID INSURANCE ON THE VEHICLE BEING TESTED IN
- CURRENT & VALID REGISTRATION ON THE VEHICLE BEING TESTED IN
- Documents must be the original, paper version unless they are loaded onto the myColorado app. Pictures of the documents on your phone are not acceptable forms!
- Personal vehicles must have a license plate on the front and back (temporary tags accepted).
- INTERLOCK DEVICE MUST BE INSTALLED & WORKING PROPERLY (ONLY APPLICABLE IF YOU HAVE INTERLOCK RESTRICTIONS ON YOUR PERMIT)
- TAIL LIGHTS/TURN SIGNALS/BRAKE LIGHTS/SEAT BELTS/WINDOWS MUST ALL BE WORKING PROPERLY
- WINDSHIELD MUST NOT BE CRACKED TO OBSTRUCT DRIVER’S OR TESTER’S VIEW
Drive testers have the right to refuse the test if the vehicle does not pass inspection or seems unsafe in any way. If you have any questions or concerns before scheduling the appointment, please call our office.